Participating in the ASM

Participation is open to all persons interested in nephrology. Professionals from a range of fields will be attending the ASM including:

  • Nephrologists
  • Senior scientists
  • Trainees and students in nephrology
  • Retired nephrologists
  • Pro-Vocational Physicians
  • Scientists undertaking higher degrees
  • Allied health professionals
  • Renal Nurses
  • Dietitians
  • Trade and Industry Representatives
  • Policy Makers
  • Academics

Invitation to Attend

On behalf of the Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology’s President, the Scientific Program and Education Committee (SPEC) and the Local Organising Committee, we invite you to the 55th Annual Scientific Meeting of the Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology, to be held from 29th August to 2nd September 2020 in Hobart.

2020 Scientific Program Themes

Developmental Biology General Nephrology – Pregnancy associated
Enviromental Sustainability General Nephrology – Other
Experimental Immunology Genetics
Experimental Tubulointerstitial Disease Haemodialysis – CKD-MBD/Anaemia/Adequacy
General Nephrology – Acute kidney injury Haemodialysis – Vascular Access
General Nephrology – Epidemiology and Public Health Haemodialysis – Other
General Nephrology – Health Services Research Interventional Nephrology
General Nephrology – Glomerulonephritis Paediatrics
General Nephrology – Cardiovascular/Hypertension Peritoneal Dialysis
General Nephrology – Renal Genetics Transplantation

Important Dates

December 2019
Call for Abstracts Open

February 2020
Registration Opens

May 2020
Call for Abstracts Closes

June 2020
Program Live

July 2020
Early Bird Registration Ends

29-30 August 2020
Nephrology and Transplantation Update Course

30 August 2020
Dietitians Update Day

31 August – 2 September 2020

3-4 September 2020





Invited Speakers

Professor Patrick (Paddy) Mark

Professor of Nephrology and Honorary Consultant Nephrologist, Glasgow Renal and Transplant Unit, Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Glasgow

Professor Lisa M. Guay-Woodford, MD

Professor of Pediatrics at the Children’s National Medical Center (CNMC), Washington

Dr Yong-Soo Kim

Professor of Medicine, Catholic University of Korea College of Medicine, Seoul, Korea

The Australia New Zealand Society of Nephrology recognises that urgent action is needed within the nephrology community to help minimise the impacts of climate change, sustainably manage natural resources, and reduce and manage waste.  It is committed to embedding environmental sustainability into its operations, including holding conferences in ways that maximally benefit the host community and all involved while minimising environmental harm. Toward this aim, and with the help of the Green Nephrology Action Team (GNAT), a working group of the ANZSN, convened in partnership with Renal Society of Australasia, Kidney Health Australia and Kidney Health New Zealand, a range of green initiatives have been incorporated into the 2020 meeting. We thank you for your support of these and welcome feedback on improvements that might be made in future meetings.

The Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology

The Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology is a not-for-profit organisation representing the interests of health professionals committed to the prevention and treatment of kidney disease.

Through the ANZSN, members support a range of research, education and clinical care initiatives to promote evidence based practice and quality outcomes for patients in Australia, New Zealand and our region.


  • Annual Scientific Meeting to bring clinicians and researchers together to share new knowledge and ideas
  • Awards program to foster, support and recognise research excellence in the prevention and treatment of kidney disease
  • Travel Grants program to enable clinicians and researchers to attend scientific meetings in Australia, New Zealand and overseas


  • Basic, Advanced and Update programs provide support to clinicians undertaking advanced training in nephrology and continuing medical education
  • Advice on the educational content of the Haemodialysis Academy and the Peritoneal Dialysis Academy
  • Supporting the Kidney School which provides access to lectures and webinars on nephrology

Clinical Care

  • The Home Dialysis Conference and the Dialysis, Transplantation and Nephrology Workshop to provide forums for the exchange of knowledge on contemporary best practice
  • Provision of advice and guidance to government, research partners, affiliated organisations and others on the development of patient care guidelines and quality indicators, particularly in the area of dialysis care
  • Provision of regional education, training and advocacy to improve access to care and education for patients and clinicians in developing countries

For more information and to become a member click here

Committee Members

Local Organising Committee

  • Dr Lisa Jeffs (chair)
    Head of Department, RHH Nephrology.  Staff Specialist in Nephrology, Royal Hobart Hospital
  • Dr Carolyn Baker
    Clinical Psychologist, Royal Hobart Hospital
  • Ms Robyn Fenton
    Registered Nurse, Royal Hobart Hospital
  • Professor Matthew Jose
    Professor of Medicine, University of Tasmania.  Consultant Nephrologist, Royal Hobart Hospital
  • Dr Geoff Kirkland
    Nephrologist, Royal Hobart Hospital
  • Mr Sam MacDonald
    Renal Clinical Pharmacist, Royal Hobart Hospital
  • Ms Samantha McFayden
    Registered Nurse, Royal Hobart Hospital
  • Ms Robyn Montgomery
    Dietitian, Royal Hobart Hospital
  • Dr Rajesh Raj
    Nephrologist, Launceston General Hospital
  • Ms Lisa Shelverton
    Registered Nurse, Chronic Kidney Disease Educator, Royal Hobart Hospital
  • Dr Lee Skeat
    Senior Renal Registrar, Royal Hobart Hospital
  • Dr Steven Yew
    Nephrologist, Royal Hobart Hospital
  • Dr Richard Yu
    Nephrologist, Royal Hobart Hospital

Scientific Program and Education Committee

  • Professor Francesco Ierino (Chair)
    Director Of Nephrology, St Vincent’s Health
  • Dr Lisa Jeffs (Chair of LOC 2020)
  • Dr Carolyn Clark
  • A/Professor Robert MacGinley
  • A/Professor Andrew Mallett
  • Professor Jacqueline Phillips
  • A/Professor Gopi Rangan
  • A/Professor Greg Tesch
  • Dr Peter Trnka
  • Dr Muh Geot Wong


The ASM is hosted by Australian and New Zealand Society of Nephrology.

The aims of the Society are to promote and support the study of the kidney and urinary tract in health and disease, and to ensure the highest professional standards for the practice of nephrology in Australia and New Zealand.

Conference Managers

Please contact the team at Conference Design with any questions regarding the Annual Scientific Meeting

© 2015 - 2016 Conference Design Pty Ltd